alexvidamarie

87 days later…

…and I’m back in Canada.

I spent Saturday in London with Dougie, a good friend from university, her boyfriend, and Hannah, also from uni. I have to admit, it was comforting to get back to London and not need a map to get around! We did a market tour of London, hitting Burrough Market, Camden Town, and Portobello Road. In a cafe off Portobello Road, we witnessed a pickpocket trying to escape with somebody’s wallet…he was tackled pretty hard by some people on the street, but managed to get away. I don’t think I’ve ever witnessed anything like that outside of a movie theatre!

On Sunday I started my long journey home through Reykjavik and Seattle. It feels strange to be home; I actually woke up this morning and didn’t know where I was for a full minute! I’ve returned from trips in the past and felt like I never left. This is different. I definitely feel like I was gone for 3 months. I realized that when I decided to do this trip, I didn’t really think about the length of time. I just made a list of everything I wanted to see and planned time off accordingly. In reality, 3 months is a large chunk of time!

Going on this adventure was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. If you’re reading this and thinking about travelling alone, DO IT. You will make new friends everywhere you go and with them have incredible conversations and unforgettable adventures. Throughout my trip, people kept telling me that I was brave to do what I was doing. You don’t need to be brave, you just need to jump in with two feet, live in the moment, and have the time of your life!

This entry was published on April 11, 2012 at 12:38 am and is filed under Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

